LIFT06: superstars like you and me

Forever the storyteller, I can not help it but to keep various conversational threads running through the posts. I have been asking myself what it is that this blogging thing is about and what was it that I got myself into by attending, without one femtosecond of hesitation, the LIFT06 conference. These will be the main threads in the LIFT06 posts to follow.

This morning I also woke up tossing in my head the question of how I am going to post all of this material that I made notes about at the conference and that I want to share with you. It is way too much for one post, so I will I be writing contained pieces of it in several different posts. I am grateful to anybody who comments with either their own reactions or interactive quests, and corrections are always welcome. I will make mistakes, I always do, and frankly life would be much too uninspiring without them. Imagine living in a perfect world… how dreadfully dull!

The other thought right behind the sharing and the posting of my impressions and thoughts about LIFT06, is how I will manage my “going public” as a blogger. I have blogged under a pseudonym for the last two years, and the experience is nothing that I want to miss. Still, I have good reason – like an impending law suit – to keep the identities unconnected. It could be that the danger of the law suit is not as much as I fear it, after all I mentioned nobody’s civil name although I did write about people who are real and kicking in a way that displeased them immensely. I have been assured by my legal team, and it is quite an extensive and well qualified legal team, that given all the disclaimers and clarifications, I should not fear. Fear is fear, and it is a bitch. Rationalization never did away with fear. Given that I shared in some of my conversations this fact with some of the others at LIFT06, I reckon that I might as well add it to the record, and let it rest in peace. Of course when one of you adds my pseudo to your Flickr‘s contacts, my heart flutters, and I wonder if I have been found out. It does not matter.

Let me share one of my internal conversations: On the first day of the conference I arrived with a few minutes to spare, and being of the kind that likes a comfortable strategic – my own criteria – seat, I went into the room and looked for a place. Right there in room 4 there was this man whom I thought was Hugh Macleod – I had never seen the guy, but I have been reading his blog for two years –  sitting right next to the beamer, and close to the power plugs. The first thought was that I had imagined him fatter. I sat down on the aisle chair in the same row (when the partition wall went up, I was right next to it)  and minded my own business, checked for wifi and stuff, and then there arrives this group of three women who all rush to the slimmer than in my imagination Hugh. Aninawas one of the three women, the others were Beth Krasna and Kelly Richdale. When I saw this… my internal commentator went, wow… this guy is popular with the women, and to add to it, I am sitting right in the same row, so here he is, the only male and four women sitting left of him to his right. Eventually I figured out that it was not Hugh, it was Robert Scoble, and then it made sense that he was not using a mac, but then neither does Hugh. Well, giving up prejudice is the basis of learning. I also often find it difficult to recognize somebody if all I have seen is photos of that person.

There were quite a few events and moments that made the whole experience of LIFT06 memorable. I was particularly pleased to have met four Portuguese: PedroAndré, Hugo (where is your blog?) and Ana Camila. It is seldom, really seldom, that I have a change to speak Portuguese. Thank you for all the good conversations and the happy moments.

note: still get right and left mixed up, one of the problems of having a visual mind and a lousy interface to language.

2 thoughts on “LIFT06: superstars like you and me”

  1. It’s a bit non-sense but the more I travel the more I like Portugal. And when by simple luck I accidently start hearing someone speaking Portuguese, the sense of confort takes control and we know we’re in good company for a good conversation. Good to meet and talk to you.BTW, I like you public interventions. Very good points taken.

  2. Thanks André for the very very kind words. Obrigada. I love the Portuguese language, although I am a bit of a cultural mashup of the third kind. whenever I can I am in Portugal, and Now I can barely wait until the 24th of April when my next trip is scheduled.

Comments are closed.