LIFT06: my moment

Thomas Madsen-Mygdal gave one of those presentations that is very much to my taste. He asked the audience, he asked us, to close our laptops and do some thinking with him. Then when he was through guiding us through the elements of understanding context, he took feedback and he listened, just listened. If you could not be present for such a magnificent moment when someone just listens to you, you missed something.

The LIFT organizers billed him as someone from whom entrepreneur types would get some inspiration from. Now, I do have one hell of a time identifying myself with the entrepreneur crowd, but when you boil down what I do, it is anyhow one hell of an enterprise: writing.  You end up taking all sorts of risks, and working for months or years on end without seeing a penny or getting any praise for your labour. Not that I have much to complain about, but really, that thing called a paycheck at the end of the month can also look attractive in moments of desperation when nothing seems to make sense. I have had lots of those moments in my life, and that paycheck has seduced me enough times, only to have me give it up a few years later in a state of complete physical and emotional exhaustion.

Then, there comes this guy wearing his reboot t-shirt and a jacket over it, the picture perfect geek, and the room fills to the brim, there were people standing against the wall. He had me. Few speakers ever get my undivided attention, he did.

Augmentation, freedom, education, nature, computer, connected, individual, creation… and then he asks what human thoughts have we been having after we all laughed at his casual remark that Europe has been more connected by EasyJet than by the European Union.

All I could come up with was that it felt like walking on a tight rope without a safety net. That is what it feels like to live my life, the real one, not the one that would be expected of me. So if you do not have a passion for what you are doing, why are you doing it? Why would you want to go and work on anybody else’s passion?

Damn good question.

Somebody else’s passion has a safety net, it is called a paycheck at the end of the month.

Money covers food and shelter…

5 thoughts on “LIFT06: my moment”

  1. Yes, it was an interesting speech especially the cheers about the Easyjet mention. In fact, Easyjet would probably not exist if it wasnt for the EU (see how they expand into countries once they have joined the EU) so I think the cheers were somewhat misplaced.

  2. good point geoff! without EU, no Easyjet. Strangely enouh they did start flying out of Geneva to Barcelona. Yes, I only discovered that it was not on the video when I was writing the post, and then quite glad for the few notes that I had.

  3. Dannie,Thanks for the kind words – glad you got some thinking done ;)Geoff,You’re probably correct in terms of “open skies” regulation that has made it possible.And all those crazy brits that flocks to the latest joined EU country and starts buying property ;)But if it hadn’t been for lowcost carriers all this wouldn’t have been happening. Ultimately statement is a testiment to the complexity of connecting and the decentral aspect of it – which no eu politicians and bureaucrats seems to comprehend. That whatever they’re doing is a very little part of a united europe.

  4. Thomas I do like your line of argumentation. Yes to make a connected Europe is not the same thing as making a centralized Europe. Seems obvious, doesn’t it?

Comments are closed.