Weekly report and the sport

I was greeted back to Berne on Monday with rain and a luxuriating garden threatening to take over my space and certainly begging for participation in my life. That and that thing we call work kept me busy this week, however I feel behind in all accounts.

Today during lunch hour I finally left the garden and went into town with the main idea of getting some earth for repotting my kitchen herbs and few groceries items. Today it is Grand Prix meaning that the public transportation trough town gets disrupted. After I got my shopping done, bumped in two people I know, and then wanted to head home with  the pull-along shopping cart on tow I headed to the Rathaus on foot without thinking that that stop was not being serviced. Blundering as I am I bumped into a third person, Adolf Ogi, who was standing there by the Bernese Rathaus watching the beginners and fun runners streaming and trodding by. I greeted him first since there was no reason for him to remember me. We had been introduced at the Swiss Economic Forum some years ago. We exchanged a few impressions and ideas about politics and sports and then I asked him one last question. Has he in his years as UN Special Advisor on Sport for Development and Peace  seen anything happen that gives him revindication and satisfaction for his work there. His answer was affirmative and his whole demeanor confirmed his words although those results are not to be seen in Europe and in North America. Adolf Ogi claims to have seen the benefits of sport in Africa and Asia in helping victims of political conflicts cope with life.

Now, you must know that Adolf Ogi and I do not even belong to the same party. He is SVP, a party whose tactics and strategies need to be questioned and their motivations illuminated with very bright shinny lights. But then to belong to a party and representing its ideology are two different pairs of shoes. I know from my own experience and minor league play in my party, FDP, that indeed while humans may have a heart, party ideologies rarely do.  That said, I must add that I am a long time admirer of Adolf Ogi as a politician. He is down to earth, humble and very authentic. He is also the kind a guy that will tell a statesman when he is off and then make him smile. He is not particularly sophisticated, he does not need to be, he is real.

This is a very incomplete report.

 

