LIFT07, say pre-lift on the light side of Things before Christmas

LIFT07, say pre-lift on the light side of Things before ChristmasAnybody reading the LIFT blog was invited to join in a dinner and discussion last night in Geneva. I like Geneva, and that sounded like an excellent excuse. However I did not need an excuse to go to Geneva, much less to join this group. Having proposed both a Workshop and an Open Stage event, this seemed to be one way to prepare for it. I also have not yet gotten my head around the whole of what LIFT+ and the whole of “digital fragility” are and hoped to get more in tune with it by breathing a bit of the air that the organizers are breathing. It inspires me.

Remember this is about challenges and opportunities of technology in our society. Here a few loose and random thoughts, rumors, opinions, half-baked ideas and other assorted discussion items.

  • No the paperless office is not coming, and those who claim to have one are either lying or are the exception.
  • I have too many blogs.
  • I go into hyper-space when talking about tensoriana, but my warp engine needs more than fine tuning.
  • Le Web 3 was ok after all, however one could keep cool when egos get hot.
  • Games, yes, they are evolving.
  • Speech mobile internet may make all the difference.
  • The digital divide is right in your backyard.
  • I have too many blogs.
  • Laurent and I have some similar ideas about living near an airport in Portugal.
  • David is more for looking for the chalet near the airport.
  • and a whole lot more… you had to be there.

I almost slept on David’s virtual couch but then remembered that I had a piece of accounting due this morning, so I left and took the last train back to Bern

