Not!

Yesterday before taking off from Locarno and its festival, I got a chance to view the screening of Freigsprochen.

Funny! This ain’t a funny film. Afterwards my friend and I mused on the wisdom of having a 10 year old watch such a film, and we agreed that even fiction reality is a good vehicle to construct dialogue with one’s children. One can not protect one’s or other’s children from exposure to what is human, and often either threatening or confronting. Dialogue is important, and children will be exposed to all sorts of situations from which many lessons can be learned and which may shatter their delicate sensitivities. A child’s mind should however not be underestimated, neglected, nor left wondering in the vacuum.

Technorati Tags:



From my point of view the film did not look into just guilt, and it did take a look at guilt and showed colours of one of its symptoms, depression. There were emotionally laden, desperate sex scenes and we had a ten year old with us.

Somehow all of what is on my mind has really not much to do with the film, a good film in its genre, and one that will not go down easy. I liked the story very much, but then I am inclined to liking heavy dramatic stories that leave emotions naked and beings without answers, but with lots of questions.

While walking through Locarno after seeing this film, my friend and I wondered a bit why it is that today’s view of sexuality is to either banalize it or criminalize it. Whatever happened with sex being normal?

I like to argue that sex is as normal as eating and breathing. However when I think a bit further, there seems to be a lot around the misuse of food, and breathing seems a long lost art of life. I wonder, do wonder… what malaise – if any – has taken over that food, sex, and air all seem so damn threatening. Death was the the theme of the film, not sex, not food, not air, not suicide, not depression. Life and death, just the normal thing about life.

