Levity

It turns out that the last few weeks have gone over me while I seem to have been in an altered state of conscientiousness. Trouble is is that I am not quite sure on which side of that consciousness I have been, I have whined and moaned and pestered many around me about the details of it all, I have partied, and I have worked. I sat in the sessions of our city council, our party meetings and assemblies, and after all of this there is one strange taste left in my mouth. But these have been interesting times, as “times” at my address tend to be always very unpredictable.

Once more I am right there in the middle of my own inquiry in what consists the interface of the public and private. After all, it is another election year for this city council, and although the campaigning season has not yet really opened up, it is clear from the nature of the debates and the local newspaper nonsense that we are in that season already when all of a sudden politics is a lot about ego trips. Ego trips are not all that bad, but what is for sure is that one must be willing to take one’s ego for one hell of a ride when exposed to the public scrutiny and this may be the ultimate thrill of them all.

Just earlier this week – or was it last week? – while heading up town I bumped into Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf walking in the opposite direction fully engaged in a very animated discussion. This was just days after I had finally claimed my fame in the diplomatic parquet by having spilled a hot expresso over the nice white shirt of one of the local ambassadors all the while not having had a clue to the nature of the position of the “lucky” gentleman who had thus had a much too intimate and private encounter with “my” expresso. It is hard to take life too seriously these days when the nature of my experiences are of this calibre, and a look into either the headlines of the international or local press makes me wonder if this world has gone totally insane already and that I may be the last one to discover what must already be obvious to all. There is something sobering about the observation of all the insanity and irrationality that surrounds us all. We do live in a world where wisdom and rational are precious jewels cultivated by the very few who know that freedom resides only in the generosity of our spirit. The faculty of critical thought is one rare and necessary instrument within our democratic societies, however we often forget that life is indeed an ephemeral non-equilibrium phenomenon. Each time that violence erupts in the streets of Beirut, I wake up.

In the grand scale of things, the weather often has the last word. You may think what you may want, however there is no such thing as a non-political discussion when it comes to humanitarian relief: watch the UN Webcast of Noon Time Press Briefing of May 8 for an idea of what this dilemma is about. Somewhere along the line the whole reminds me of some fantastic scenes from the movie Babel.

