Running Report

It has been of those days that from the first instant, I was already late. I did get up very early, however that seemed to be an irrelevant detail. I arrived late and departed late from all my appointments. What does this mean?

Really, I do not have a clue if running late has any meaning at all.

In between I was quickly at the Dojo to speak with the parents and meet the kids of what is going to be a first Aikido class for 5-7 year old children. We will be offering a special class for the 5-7 year olds starting in September. I am really looking forward to this class. It is going to be about learning a bit of the protocol (rei), how to protect your own body when rolling on the floor or in the contact with another, and above all how to respect another when in a conflict. I certainly am planning on having a wonderful time in this class.

I rushed to get to the Rathaus as I had item 14 on the agenda, arrived almost one hour late and the debate was still on item 1. Today’s session at the Bernese Rathaus seems to have been more about Facebook than anything else. I read a prepared argument against some silly little postulate about additional measurements of non-ionising radiation (duh… electromagnetic waves, radio waves and the like… duh… think cell phones) which are totally unnecessary as the whole legislation in this issue is already pretty stringent in Switzerland, and this is practically not a issue that the city itself needs to deal with, and when it does, then the necessary legal and administrative dispositives are already in place and there is absolutely no need for additional measurements. But anyhow, there are elections coming up…

For me the question is how can somebody be so stupid, but I suppose that it is those who understand the matter that are the stupid ones. The rest just create a lot of polemic discussion around a bubble of hot air, and with this tactic gain popularity and votes. It is something fundamental to behaviour, it is like using a laser pointer with a cat and have the cat chase the nice little red dot… it is not pray, it does not satisfy hunger, but it is fun! Entertainment is the only relevant industry, and I suppose that the news media do belong into that category.

One thought on “Running Report”

  1. Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity… and I’m not sure about the universe.- Albert Einstein

Comments are closed.